Crouching Dairy, Hidden Milk

Standard

milk

If you ask most people what dairy is, they will probably say the following:

Sour cream, yogurt, butter, milk (obviously), cheese, cream, and eggs. Let me be clear: EGGS ARE NOT DAIRY. Yes, they are found next to the dairy products in the refrigerated section of the store, but they are not dairy. Cows make milk. Chickens make eggs. The end of that dispute.

While those items above certainly are no-nos for those who can’t consume milk (EXCEPT THE EGGS!), there are many names that milk ‘hides’ in, and label reading is just one of the many feats to accomplish in ensuring you’re not ingesting hidden milk. The FDA requires that companies list the TOP 8 ALLERGENS in a statement in the ingredients. More information on that can be found here: http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm106187.htm 

Unfortunately, the law does not apply to items such as natural flavorings so you must be a vigilant label reader, and learn the names of hidden milk.  Here is a link to an excellent, comprehensive list of hidden milk names:

Milk_Allergy_Avoidance_List

If in doubt, don’t eat it, or be sure to call the company for more information about their ingredients.  If they don’t know what’s in their product, it is a product that you do not want to eat.

label

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s