Going Milk Free-The Death of Cheese

Standard

Cheese and I had a great relationship. After 29 blissful years, it was time to break-up.  Neither of us wanted to, but I had to do what was best for me and my health.  Plus, I found out I was allergic, so there was that, too. No more mozzarella, pepper jack, cheddar, whatever processed crap is in Velveeta. No more cheese!  Hearing that you need to cut dairy from your diet is very stressful and extremely sad.  Plus, it is very difficult to do since the American diet relies heavily on milk products.

When I became pregnant with my daughter, I was concerned that I would pass my allergic tendencies on to her.  It’s been two years since I’ve cut dairy so I didn’t consume it while pregnant, and I don’t consume it while breastfeeding.  I am slightly worried that her introduction to milk will be a fail because she’s never encountered the proteins in milk before.

I’ve encountered many moms who have had to eliminate milk from their diet because their breastfed baby has an intolerance, or allergy to the proteins in milk.  The milk proteins, casein, and whey, are very hard to digest for babies because their immature gut has a difficult time breaking them down.

It can be very daunting to create a menu of delicious foods to consume when one cannot eat dairy. The process is not without trial and error, but there are many steps a mother can take to ensure the health of both her and her child while going milk-free!

Leave a Reply

